OK, I confess… I’ve got several low voltage halogen lights in the kitchen ceiling!

In my defence, I do have some of those “puck” 7W compact fluorescent lights under the cupboards – see http://www.heralighting.com/hera/fluoro.html – and a low energy pendant light over the table. I did do a trial of a 7W cold cathode (fluorescent) GU10/240V lamp but the light output was pretty poor, even after warming up. I reckon the problem is that, as the light is diffuse, having it in a recessed fitting just means a lot is lost or doesn’t reach the worktops. I see Screwfix do a bigger 11W version (it’s taken them a while to stock many low energy lamps) now but I’m still skeptical as to how effective it would be compared to a 20W halogen. Of course the most efficient means of kitchen lighting (apart from natural light!) would be a couple of double 6ft fittings with bare fluorescent tubes (e.g. 4 tubes at 36W)… rather like the ones we removed from the old kitchen! Not exactly the most elegant design though.

Incidentally, I struggled to find much information on the pros and cons of 240V vs 12V halogens. The general consensus seemed to be that low voltage was slightly more efficient, especially when coupled with electronic transformers (I used Osram), however I couldn’t find any proper like-for-like comparisons.Anyway, after spotting a press release for them about 6 months ago, I see you can now buy Philips Masterline (ES) halogen bulbs. These are new 12V lamps which Philips claim are up to 40% more energy efficient than standard ones (something to do with reusing the heat emitted by the filament). More info here:

http://www.prismaecat.lighting.philips.com/LightSite/Whirlwind.aspx?eca=LEPPLG&cpf=GBEPEN&stg=ACT&lan=EN&cnt_key=HMASLES%20+|PHL|871150041367371+++&ecu=LMP|PHL|EP&t=3&tree=0&scr_md=1111&leftnav=2_1&nav=Null&loc=Null
(note: this is a long link which will probably stop working soon – if so just search their website for “Masterline ES”)

There are many variants of the lamp (power, angle of beam and fitting) and I was curious as to how much more efficient they are. Therefore I looked up the data sheets for each model and plotted a chart of light vs power for Masterline ES compared to Brilliantline Dichroic lamps which I assume is a standard range (click image to view):

Philips ES LV halogen lamp performance

Whilst this graph is a bit busy you can see that, for a given beam width, the ES lamps are either lower power for the same light, or more light for the same power (or both). E.g. 36 degree spot: a 20W ES bulb gives 1000cd which is the same as a 35W BD lamp, i.e. 43% less power. At higher powers the saving may not be quite as much, e.g. 35W ES = 1050cd which is only slightly less than the light from a 50W BS, i.e. 30% saving.

Note that, surprisingly, the 20W BD lamp is much more efficient than the 35W version (assuming I’ve not made a mistake!) – it gives 780cd compared to 1000cd i.e. the 20W ES bulb gives 22% more light for the same power. Or looking at it another way if you upgrade your BD lights from 20W to 35W you only get 22% more light for 75% more power consumption! Needs a little more investigation I think…

Anyway, this is all very encouraging. I think congratulations are due to Philips for this new product; hopefully over the next couple of years they, and the other leading manufacturers, will continue to improve the efficiency of halogen lamps and their new designs will become the norm.